The Gluten Monster

It is the latest diet trend hitting the nation. Although for some it is not a trend it is a threat, a disease in the body. I found out I had celiac about 2 years ago. I didn’t really understand what gluten did to my body until I stopped eating it all together. The only way to cure celiac, is by consuming a gluten-free diet. By day 3, I could see miraculous changes in symptoms that I used to discount as normal. I had more energy rather than my usual nap- inducing fatigue. Then as the weeks passed I had better concentration and mental focus. I had fewer sick days, better overall health, and skyrocketing energy. I had a greater sense of happiness, well being, and emotional stability. I had decreased allergy symptoms and less nasal and chest congestion. I even used to be a severe insomniac and going gluten-free improved my sleep, because my body wasn’t working overtime digesting food. I would be lying if I said it was easy changing my diet, because it wasn’t. Food was more expensive and harder to find a variety of, going out was nearly impossible because everything contains gluten in some way or form.  As far as socially I was a nightmare of a guest to feed. I took to eating before going anywhere to avoid the situation of what in the world could I eat.  As the time has passed it has gotten easier, I know how to plan ahead and friends are very supportive of my allergy. The problem with celiac, is that no one is educated on the subject, most don’t even know what gluten is. Most think that gluten is a choice rather than a disease. There is all different levels of sensitivity to gluten as well. It is a hidden monster in almost all processed food and today millions of people suffer poor health and don’t even know that a gluten sensitivity is at the root of their problem. You could be eating your way to sickness even with the healthiest of diets. Experts estimate that as much as 30% of the world’s population is gluten sensitive, but so many cases are misdiagnosed that it is almost impossible to tell.

Gluten 101

What is gluten?? Gluten is a natural food protein found mostly in wheat, but also in other grains to lesser degrees.

Why is gluten sensitivity on the rise?? Simple: our exposure to gluten has grown exponentially in recent decades thanks to our increasingly grain based diet and gluten’s widespread use in processed foods. More and more people’s bodies just can’t tolerate it anymore.

How does gluten cause harm?? Undigested gluten molecules can have a sandpaper effect on the intestinal lining and trigger inflammation. This can produce chronic intestinal symptoms and can also lead to dangerous leaky gut syndrome.

What is celiac disease?? Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition which is triggered by gluten and affects about 1 in 200 people. It damages the small intestine villi that are critical for nutrient absorption, leading to serious health complications. Celiac disease is a subset of the broader condition of gluten intolerance, which experts estimate may affect 1 in 3 people.

Are there medications for gluten sensitivity?? There are no pharmaceutical drugs that erase gluten intolerance. The solution is avoiding or sharply restricting gluten intake and that’s complicated by the fact that today so many foods contain gluten. It’s in thousands of processed foods as a taste enhancer as well as to add texture.

Is it difficult to live gluten-free?? Until recently it has been. Most gluten-free foods in stores have been nasty, rotten tasting stuff. Also the dozens of gluten-free recipe books I have tested are filled with the same bad tasting junk! All of a sudden now everything has changed. Stores are offering more varieties of gluten-free foods and food companies are taking the time to label their food whether or not it contains gluten.

Gluten is a protein found mostly in wheat, but it is also present in grains like rye, barley, and oats. The processed food industry has discovered gluten’s value as a thickener, filler, binding agent, and even taste enhancer. It is now used in almost every type of packaged food imaginable, from cold cuts to salad dressings to gravies, to chips. There is no escaping it! Gluten is an unusually large food molecule that is difficult to break down, therein lies the problem. The undigested molecules irritate the sensitive villi that line the small intestine wall. This can lead to intestinal inflammation and problems like gas, diarrhea, constipation, indigestion, abdominal pain, and others the full litany of gastrointestinal miseries! Over time this damage can seriously impede nutrient absorption. That’s why gluten intolerance is also linked to….

  • chronic fatigue
  • weakened resistance to illness
  • depression and anxiety
  • malabsorption problems like anemia
  • concentration and focus difficulties
  • headaches
  • muscle pain

**please click on pictures to enlarge.

5 thoughts on “The Gluten Monster

  1. Thanks for these recent posts! I really enjoy your blogs and these are close to home for me, as I have a mild lactose problem and am trying my hardest to resolve my other food issues. It’s been a journey and I’m always open to more education that is practical! Love you!

Leave a comment